top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Q&A: Saira Purhar

For those who don’t know, my sister Saira recently committed to University of Pacific in California. She has been offered an athletic scholarship to compete on their NCAA Division 1 cross-country and track team.

Pacific has an impressive history – it was California’s first university, is home to 18 NCAA Division 1 teams, hosted the filming of Raiders of the Lost Ark, and was attended by none other than Jamie Lee Curtis. But Saira isn’t letting her recent enrolment to this distinguished and renowned brick and ivy school get to her head – in fact, when I asked her to take this interview with me she said “speak to my agent [our Dad] about setting up an appointment”.

I did speak to my Dad – her so called agent – and negotiated for exclusive access to take an interview with Saira (I traded him the bag of chips in exchange for him telling Saira she had to talk to me):

You just committed to University of Pacific in California, how does it feel like?

That’s a big question! ***Interviewer’s note: See Saira? I’m asking you these questions now so you’ll know how to answer them next year!*** I’ve never competed with or trained in an environment like this, so I’m not completely sure what to expect. But I have such a good feeling about the school and team!

How’d you know Pacific was the right school for you?

I went for a visit, and instantly I realized it was my dream school. The girls on the team act like family and they treated me like part of that family right away. I could tell how much the coach [Josh Jones] cares about the team as well. His passion for running shows instantly. And his philosophy of running resonates with me.

You mentioned Coach Jones’ philosophy resonates with you. What is that philosophy?

He treats running as something we should cherish. We are blessed to have the ability to run, and therefore should put 100% into achieving our goals.

Do you have any running goals you’ve set to accomplish while at Pacific?

Run my 5km in 17 minutes.

Do you have any pre-race rituals?

I always have my race goals/game plan in my head, but the night before I write them out on paper.

Can you describe your perfect run?

It would be a road race, and the weather would be sunny with slight winds. The course would be flat with some downhills. Maybe some uphill’s to make it interesting. Also, there would be people around my goal pace and a bit faster than that to push me.

If you could give runner’s advice: what is the #1 “DO” and #1 “DON’T” when running/training?

Do: Stay happy! Love what you do. See the bigger picture.

Don’t: Don’t get caught up in the small things.

Who is your favourite athlete right now?

Colleen Quigley [3000m steeple chase athlete from the USA].

bottom of page