top of page

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Expectations vs. Reality: The Unromantic Truth of Running

Why did you start running? Was it because you had a romantic idea about what you thought running was like? I think a large percentage of those who run began with all-too-optamistic expectations about what they thought this crazy lifestyle was all about. I took the liberty of listing some of the naive thoughts my pre-running self had vs the reality of what it's really like.

Before:

I will finish my races strong.

Reality:

In the last 50 meters you get passed by a 65 year old man AND a lady pushing her baby in stroller. Ouch.

Before:

Sure, my feet will probably get sore...

Reality:

Black toe nails, toe nails fall off, unexpected foot growths, blisters

Before:

I'll have so many great race photos to post on Facebook!

Reality:

In every photo you look sweaty, in pain and gasping for breath. In fact, you look miserable. Did someone force you to run that race??

Before:

Weather won't effect my running.

Reality:

As soon as it starts even just drizzling rain, the complaining starts and you question why you didn't choose an indoor sport.

Before:

I'll wake up at 5AM to go for a run before work!

Reality:

Sleeps. Does dreaming about going for a run count??

Before:

I'll be proud of myself no matter what my race time is.

Reality:

Takes advantage of the Garmin and scrutinizes the pace you ran for each mile, factoring in the elevation gain/loss. Becomes bitter when you realize you should have run faster.

Before:

The more marathons I run the easier it will get.

Reality:

You realize 'marathon' and 'easy' have no logical reason to ever be said in the same sentence.

Before:

You think that once you're fit and running, you'll inevitably start eating healthy as well.

Reality:

You realize running is an excuse to eat an extra piece (or two, or three) of pizza

Before:

I'll love running!

Reality:

I lov(hat)e running


bottom of page